top of page

New computer! Dude, I got a Dell!

Well, well, well! I've seen Dell computer commercials since way back when I was in the fourth grade, but the first slogan that I heard Dell use in those commercials was "Dude, you're getting a Dell!" That was back around 2001-2002.

Now, around 15 years later, that statement seems a little bit...prophetic. Because I got one now.

But, let me be more realistic. Those commercials are long gone, and I never searched them up on YouTube at all. That slogan never had one thought allocated in my mind all these years. In reality, my mother was in the market for getting me another laptop to replace the quickly aging Toshiba I've used for the past five years. And during that time, that Goodwill refurbished machine has seen many virtual machines, a switch to Linux and back again, an attempt at Android...or several, a full and complete upgrade to Windows 10, and an architecture switch to match its processor. And, as the song goes, through the fire and the flames, it carried on.

Now, my mother, at my father's suggestion, more or less, decided to get me another refurbished laptop. Given that, we went through several different systems with different specifications as to RAM, disk space, the processor, and the operating system, and even display size wound up being taken into account. She finally found a good system, and clicked that gold "Buy" button.

Little did both my parents, or for that matter, the family, suspect that that "refurbished" machine...was actually brand new.

Now, I have a brand-new, brand name machine with a quad core processor and a massive amount of space for a hard drive: 500GB. And, given that, I have my parents to thank for this unexpected stroke of luck that even found its way onto social media.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page