top of page

My Entertainment Center's Evolution over the years

People have their own entertainment centers, and some just have a TV. It all depends on preference. Here's how my own personal entertainment center has changed over the years.

In 2007, I got my first TV set. 13", analog only. Best I could do was hook up my VCR via the antenna port, and set my DVD system up via the front AV jacks. That's pretty much what it was. Now, at the time, television was getting set to go fully digital, so naturally, I would want a converter box to keep my TV set and continue receiving my channels. Since the digital transition back in 2009, I lost pretty much all TV reception...until another CRT-based TV set came in, complete with digital capabilities.

That particular TV set combined old tech with DTV technology. With that, I was able to get my channels back. And later on, I was able to receive satellite television via a Dish Joey set up through the Hopper unit my family had. I even added in a full hi-fi system.

Next came the DTV part going widescreen. I wound up getting me a Dynex 19" 720p LCD set for free. As a bonus, there was a headphones jack for me to hook up my Hi-fi to. Gave me full stereo sound. And, a few game systems got thrown in. Basically, the systems nobody else used. SNES, Genesis, N64, Atari, etc. That prompted me to throw in an old, yet working, input switch. Then, I upgraded to a VCR/DVD Recorder combo with HDMI Out, and hooked the input switcher into that. It stayed like that for a while...until recently.

During a garage sale last weekend, I netted myself a new Blu-Ray player, which also doubled as a surround sound deck. Good call on my part, because I won't have to get separate units and waste power on each. It even took FM radio. Best of luck to the old Panasonic, because I gave it to my brother. But the newest addition to my center was one of Sega's last consoles: the Dreamcast, for which I am waiting for an AV cable to come in the mail. And when it does, cue the video test.

That's pretty much it.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page